Why the Interactive Map Matters
Ashenfall is a sprawling survival world, and finding every chest, quest NPC, or resource node by memory alone just isn't practical. A RuneScape: Dragonwilds interactive map solves that by pinning tens of thousands of locations onto the actual world map, filterable by category. Instead of wandering blind, players can search for exactly what they need — a Tier 5 loot chest, a specific quest giver, or a rare tree — and go straight to it.
Two community tools currently cover this space: The Hidden Gaming Lair's map at dragonwilds.th.gl, and Wand's map at wand.com. Both track the same single region, Ashenfall, but they differ in scale and features.
What the Map Covers
The Hidden Gaming Lair's Ashenfall map is the more data-dense option, with over 40,000 marked locations as of its September 15, 2026 update. It pairs the map with a full in-game database, so players can look up an item or recipe and then jump straight to where it spawns in the world.
- Locations: 40,432 markers across Ashenfall
- In-game companion app: live overlay with player tracking and auto-discovery
- Database: cross-referenced items, equipment, recipes, and enemies
Wand's map takes a different approach, built around checklist-style completion tracking rather than raw location count. It also supports account-based features like live location tracking and teleportation for logged-in users, plus nearby pin notifications through its companion app.
Database Categories (The Hidden Gaming Lair)
| Category | Count | What It Covers | |---|---|---| | Items | 671 | Resources, consumables, and components | | Equipment | 491 | Weapons, armor, and tools with stats | | Recipes | 838 | Crafting recipes by station, with ingredients | | Enemies | 154 | Creatures and bosses across Ashenfall |
Featured Location Guides
| Guide | Count | |---|---| | Interactable NPCs | 4 | | Quest Book Collectibles & Progression | 112 | | Loot Chest (Tier 5) Items | 5 | | Willow Tree Resources | 44 | | Razlem the Necromancer Monsters | 52 |
Recent Map Updates
The Ashenfall map gets updated alongside major game patches, so location counts and filters shift as new content ships. Here's a rundown of the most recent changes reported on the interactive map's changelog, from the newest update back through the last few months.
September 15, 2026 — 1.0 Map Update
- New map art: the map now uses the game's 1.0 world map image
- Dragon Gate: the entrance to the Scorned Wilderness raid is now a "Raid Entrance" filter under Locations (the raid interior itself is instanced and not mapped)
- 12 new monster filters added for open-world creatures and mini-bosses, including Garou Exile, Blazing Black Knight, Goblin Thug, Stormpact Demon, and Wildcaller Druid
- The Umbral Sands quest red dragon was renamed "The Radiant" to match the in-game name
- A new vault door and dungeon entrance were added to the map
- Database expanded with Rune and Dragon gear, Kuldra's rewards, and previously missing Umbral Sands and Dowdun Reach content
- Loot chests, buried chests, spectral chests, and buried coffins now display the game's own chest icon
September 3, 2026 — Nodestone Filter
A new "Nodestone" filter was added for the Dowdun Reach fast-travel network, covering 18 locations. This is kept separate from the overworld Lodestone network, so players fast-traveling through Dowdun Reach should check both filters.
July 30, 2026 — Version 0.12.1: Eye on Ashenfall
This update mapped everything added by the Eye on Ashenfall patch, with a heavy focus on Agility content and a new quest line involving a suspicious doctor in the swamp.
| Addition | Detail | |---|---| | Time-trial Agility courses | 6 new courses, including Lava Fields, each marker shows the required Agility level | | Kebbit burrow shortcuts | 19 shortcuts, given their own map layer | | Kebbit spawn points | Nearly doubled, from 54 to 102 | | The Great Body Robbery | Doctor Fenkenstrain marked in Bloodblight Swamp, plus 3 buried coffin markers | | New loot chest | 1 new Tier 7 chest placed | | New NPCs | 28 added, including Umbral Sands tribe citizens |
The update also folded in a naming fix from the game itself: Lesser Blue Dragon is now just Blue Dragon, so players tracking that filter need to re-enable it under its new name to keep seeing those markers.
Choosing a Map Tool
Both interactive map options serve slightly different playstyles, so the right pick depends on what a player is trying to get out of it.
- The Hidden Gaming Lair — best for players who want the deepest location count and a full item/recipe/enemy database tied directly to the map, plus a live in-game companion overlay with auto-discovery
- Wand — best for players who prefer checklist-driven completion tracking and want optional account features like live location and teleport shortcuts
Neither tool requires payment to use the core map, though The Hidden Gaming Lair offers an ad-free version and Wand's advanced features (live location, teleport, nearby pin notifications) are unlocked through its companion app rather than the browser map itself.
Quick Comparison
| Feature | The Hidden Gaming Lair | Wand | |---|---|---| | Regions mapped | 1 (Ashenfall) | 1 (Ashenfall) | | Total locations | 40,432 | Not specified | | Companion app | Yes, with auto-discovery | Yes, with live location & teleport | | Item/recipe database | Yes (671 items, 838 recipes) | Not specified | | Completion checklist | Via guide categories | Dedicated 100% checklist |
Tips for Using an Interactive Map Effectively
Getting the most out of any RuneScape: Dragonwilds interactive map comes down to knowing which filters to toggle for the task at hand. A few practical habits make exploration much faster:
- Filter by chest tier first if you're hunting gear — Tier 5 and Tier 7 chests are called out specifically in the map data
- Use the Raid Entrance filter to locate the Dragon Gate before attempting the Scorned Wilderness raid, since the raid's interior isn't shown on the overworld map
- Cross-check quest-related NPCs, like Doctor Fenkenstrain, against buried coffin markers when working through multi-step quests such as The Great Body Robbery
- Re-enable renamed filters after major updates — names like "The Radiant" and "Blue Dragon" replaced older labels, so old saved filters may go dark
- Use the Nodestone filter separately from Lodestones when fast-traveling through Dowdun Reach
- Check Agility course markers for the required level before attempting a time trial, since each one is labeled on the map
- Toggle the Kebbit burrow shortcut layer on if you're hunting spawn points, since they nearly doubled in the last major update
FAQ
What does a RuneScape: Dragonwilds interactive map actually show? It shows marked locations across Ashenfall — chests, NPCs, resources, quest items, dungeon entrances, and monster spawns — that players can filter by category to find exactly what they're looking for.
How many locations are on the map? The Hidden Gaming Lair's map lists 40,432 locations as of its September 15, 2026 update, spanning items, equipment, recipes, enemies, and general points of interest.
Is the Scorned Wilderness raid shown on the map? The entrance (Dragon Gate) is marked under a "Raid Entrance" filter, but the raid itself is an instanced area, so its interior layout isn't part of the overworld map.
Do these maps cover more than one region? As of the latest updates, both tracked interactive map tools cover only Ashenfall, which is currently the game's single mapped region.
Are there paid features on these maps? The core maps are free to browse. The Hidden Gaming Lair offers an ad-free option, and Wand gates advanced features like live location tracking and teleport behind its companion app.